The Winds, they are a changing. Part Two.

dsc_0001_2-16004658801.jpg

We left Part One on somewhat a bit of a cliff hanger. Last minute decision I assure you, but figured this event kind of deserves a post of its own.

Those out the know, Two Years ago I left my small, quiet supermarket job for a slightly larger, more busy supermarket job. I’d be going from working with 2-3 people per shift to on average 5-7 per shift.

It was daunting, it took me a while to find my feet and within a week I wanted to return to my small, homely little store. But of course I stuck it through.

I’m pleased I did as those two years introduced me to some wonderful people. Wonderful people in which I’ve let into my personal life, partied with, even bought in the new year with.

The job itself I fucking hated with every part of me, but the people there stopped me walking away uncountable times.

However, if you’ve read previous blog posts in which I’ve complained about my job and lack of direction then you’d figure out that ultimately I’d have to force a time to move on.

I’m sat here, 4 in the morning still finding to wrap my head around the fact that I’ve just finished my final shop shift.

I started working in the small shop December 31st 2006.

Left Small Shop October 17th 2016, just nearly missing a decade in the same store.

Two years to the very day of starting the bigger store, I clocked out for the final time.

It feels surreal as fuck. Nearly 13 years of my life dedicated to the same company that I swore to leave on what was probably a monthly basis.

I’m out of retail now. Meaning I can finally post about my horrors in retail in some blog segments itself, so someone please motivate me to actually fucking dedicate myself to that cause.

Both small and big store deserve a post of their own, and right now my mind’s a bit too occupied to do so.

Upon leaving the small store to leave for the bigger one I felt as if I was walking into the literal unknown, but I was wrong. The scene was the same, just a different and more varied cast.

This time however, I start a new job, in a complete different field on Monday.

This time I’m legitimately walking into unknown territory. And I’m only just realising this as I type it.

Fuck.

Leave a comment