Dan Watches: When We First Met.

I’ve never been much of a movie person really. I mean, excluding Marvel and Disney I genuinely have no clue what the last film I saw in the cinema was, but I can guarantee it was years ago. I only ever really put one on whenever I’m with someone who suggests it. (I stress, Disney and Marvel are excluded from this list as I went through a weird stage of watching Avengers constantly).

Anyway, I digress.

Babysitting mom’s house whilst she’s on holiday I figure I mark the occasion with a movie, Pug cuddled on my lap, I let Role Models run it’s course whilst I leave it as background as I check my messages and such.

Afterwards an advert for a Netflix original plays.

How we first met”

From the portrayed ad, it just looks like your classy “NiceGuy” had made a movie as the basis was Adam Devine’s ‘Noah’ is wildly in love with Alexandra Daddario’s ‘Avery’. But here’s the cliché kicker she’s with someone else. Same old stuff.

Here comes the intriguing part, using a time travelling photo booth he can go back in time to change his fate.

Ironically, I was having a conversation about fate, and the butterfly effect just the other night, maybe fate alone to watch such a film? This along with two other things had enticed me to watch it….

1: I have never, ever seen anything with Adam Devine in which I didn’t like.

2: I had gotten off with a girl that was the spitting image of Alexandra Daddario at Halloween.

It took………. About ten minutes for me to be completely captivated by the film, setting down my phone and not even giving it a second glance. It was a charming and witty combination of 500 Days of Summer (A personal favourite of mine),The Butterfly Effect and Groundhog day as Noah had multiple timelines and chances to “change his fate”.

It also got a few hearty chuckles, a belly laugh on occasions, and I shit you not some teary eyes. The twist and turns had me genuinely gripped as I had no clue what was around the corner.

This, by no means at all is a film review, as I’m shit at them. It’s simply a case of Dan watched a film, he liked a film, you should do so too!

I can’t/won’t say how it left me feeling as that would probably ruin the film if you’re actually going to take my recommendation.

Howeverrrrrrrrrrr

Below is the part for people that don’t care and/or have seen the film

For those that have seen it!

It was one of those films that kind of left a longing taste for a cute little romance in life, which perhaps right now I’m ultimately lacking, the build up in the first 10 minutes of Noah and Avery meeting was genuinely beautiful, and I’m so, so sooooo glad that they didn’t go for the “Fiancé is an ass hole and Noah was the right guy all along” trope. It’s refreshing that Ethan was legitimately an actual nice guy who also got a deserved happily ever after.

The twist, of Noah and Carrie really being the ones to get together was smart, not completely unexpected but I think in the first half hour or so you wouldn’t have called it, only did the pieces connect during their multiple heart to hearts in different timelines. The two were also responsible for my favourite exchange in the entire movie.

Don’t touch her, ass hole!”

Don’t touch her ass hole?”

For those in Noah’s shoes at the start of the film, the film, message, and conclusion is as satisfying as it comes. I have for the longest of times hated the whole “NiceGuy” belief, which is why I went into the film so nervously that it was just going to pander to that. Such a worry was even more prevalent when Noah turned into Asshole-Noah.

It leaves a good taste in the mouth. Instead of pining for ‘The girl’ be grateful for the friendship you’ve made. Alternate timelines will of course always play on your mind (Which is weird as I was just thinking of alternate timelines to my own life choices just a few nights ago). But what’s happened has happened and you know what? Fuck it. That’s fine too. Max summed it up perfectly…

Fate is a tricky lady. When you try to figure her out, you just get more confused. Listen, all I know is the mistakes I’ve made, and the ladies I’ve laid have made me who I am today. If I were to go back and relive it differently, I wouldn’t be me.

And I like me

Leave a comment